Message from the Academic Leader – School of Science

Welcome to the Faculty of Science

Our Goal is to produce world class graduates in Mathematics and Science. We achieve this by empowering our students through all round education.

The Faculty is home to the Department of Mathematics and other upcoming departments. The department offers one programme in BSc Mathematics and services the departments of Business Administration and Management, Computer Science, and Business Information Technology. The programme is anchored on the philosophy of devotion to the applications of logical and mathematical methods to all kinds of human problems and is, therefore, relevant and market driven.

The Faculty boasts of 7 dedicated and dynamic full-time lecturers. These are Prof J. Mile (Pure Mathematics), Dr. D Maingi (Pure Mathematics), Dr. E Njurai (Mathematics Education), Mr B Mwangi (Statistics) – Head of the Department, Diana Kungu (Operation Research), Grace Machuke (Statistics) and Irene Muteti (Pure Mathematics). The lecturers are also pursuing research in their areas of interest. A majority of them are also pursuing their PhDs in their respective fields.

In addition to in-class learning, our students conduct research projects, take internship programmes and participate in community service. These help to model each student into a holistic educated individual capable of undertaking further studies.

Mr. Bonventure Mwangi
HOD- Faculty of Science