Kiriri Women's University of Science and Technology


KWUST is a privately Kenyan owned University from inception to operation. It is a women’s only university, the first of its kind in Eastern and southern Africa, 23 countries in total.

Our  main objective is to bridge the gap in gender representation in higher education as well as contributing to the social and economic development of the country. The institution was founded on 15th May 2002 through the issue of a Letter of Interim Authority (LIA) by the Government of Kenya through the Commission for Higher Education. The University started with three Schools namely:

x School of Business and Management

x School of Computer and Information Technology

x School of Sciences (Mathematics, Physics, biological Sciences, Environmental Science, Chemistry)

The University has two campuses; the main campus is located in one of the most serene environment on a fifty acre plot, a place which is conducive to genuine intellectual excitement and cutting-edge research at Githurai Kimbo off Thika Super Highway. The other campus is located in the heart of Nairobi at Westlands, one of the most cosmopolitan and vibrant cities in the world.

Other up coming Campuses are at EastLeigh, another very vibrant part of the city and Mombasa Campus at the coastal city of Mombasa. There are three intakes every year;-

x January

x May



holds the view that Science and Technology is an indispensable tool in harnessing resources of nature for sustainable development and creating an environment in which human beings can survive and realize their potential. Thus, the human person has the moral obligation to creatively improve the environment.